Planning Commission

The commission reviews all land development proposals within the city and subdivisions outside the corporate limits to insure compliance with the Zoning Code. 

Past Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings.
 View Past Agendas
Minutes are available following approval
View Past Minutes

NEW!!! As of January 1, 2019 the City launched a new Meeting Portal.  The new Meeting Portal provides easier access to Planning Commission, Board of Zoning Adjustments / Board of Adjustments and Appeals, and Historic District Commission meeting schedules, agendas and minutes.   

Please check for upcoming agendas at the new Meetings Portal here: 

iCompass Button 2iCompass ButtonMembers

  • Vacant, District #1
  • Vacant, District #2
  • Joe Goslee, Jr., District #3
  • Brian White, District #4  
  • Wayne Thomason, District #5
  • Harold Koppel, District #6
  • Charles Smith, Chairman, Commissioner At-Large
  • Vacant, County Planning Jurisdiction (Outside City)
  • Hilarie Dzianott, Vice-Chairman County Planning Jurisdiction (Outside City)
  • Anne Guthrie, At-Large Alternate #1
  • Karie Hobby, At-Large Alternate #2



The Planning Commission is an appointed body that reviews matters related to planning and development. The commission holds public hearings on a regular schedule to consider land use matters. These include such things as subdivisions, rezone requests, conditional uses and large-scale or multiple building development. The Planning Commission shall consist of nine(9) members. There shall be one(1) member who resides within each of the respective six(6) districts within the corporate limits of the city, and one(1) additional member who resides, at large, within the corporate limits of the city. The remaining two (2) members shall reside within the city's duly established planning jurisdiction but outside the corporate limits of the city as authorized by A.C.A 14-56-405. At least two-thirds (2/3) of the membership shall not hold any other municipal office or appointment except membership in the board of adjustment or a joint planning agency. The planning commission members shall serve three (3) year terms. The terms of office for each member shall be so established such that no more than three (3) terms shall expire in any given year. No member shall serve more than three (3) consecutive terms, or any part thereof.


The Planning Commission shall have such powers as necessary to carry out the duly adopted comprehensive plan, subdivision code and zoning code and other duties and responsibilities as authorized by A.C.A ' 14-56-412. (Hot Springs Municipal Code 16-1-1.2)