How City Government Works

Hot Springs has a city manager form of government. The seven-member Board of Directors is the community's supreme legislative and executive body. It sets policy, approves budget, and adopts ordinances and resolutions. It also appoints a city manager to implement policy, hire and supervise staff, manage all city departments and funds, and run the city's day-to-day operations.

City Districts & Mayor

The city is divided into six districts, each represented by a city director elected to a four-year term. The mayor, elected at-large, represents the city in official functions, presides over board meetings, and acts as liaison to governmental agencies and civic groups.

Board Member Elections

All board members are non-partisan and may be elected by a plurality vote. The terms of office are staggered whereby three members are elected at the November presidential general election, and four at the "off" year November general election. Terms of office begin on January first following election in November.

Board Meetings

Regular Board meetings, televised live on Resort TV Cable channel 12 (City12), are held:
  • 6 p.m.
  • First and third Tuesdays of each month
  • City Hall
    133 Convention Blvd.
    Hot Springs, AR 71901